Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar – Not Just a Cricketer

Many people around me are tired of listening about Sachin from me; they are irritated of hearing from me how great the man is. Many time just to tease me they have abused and said bad things about him, and even though knowing that they  don’t mean it I have defended it all the time. So what is that one man means to me and billions of Indian that we can’t hear a small thing against him? Is it his 100 century or those 30,000+ runs he has scored or the other countless records?

May be for cricket fanatics this could be reason, but not for me. What I love most about this man is the ethics he has shown on ground. It is said that he has been dismissed approx. 39 times (Source: Google) due to poor decision by the umpire. I don’t remember a single time this man has given any reaction to such decision or even spoken about it. And I am sure most of the time he knew that decision is wrong. Think about your workplace and just imagine you being foul play by someone, the next thing you will be doing is either confronting him in the manner that you want to kill him or start bitching about him/her. May be some of us think what is wrong in it? We just stood up for the right thing but than think why Sachin never stood up for it? Is it because he could not have? Nope, but because in his view, best way to answer someone is thorough his work and not with words. Words doesn’t mean anything if it is not backed by the great work. Remember if your work can speak for yourself you need not have to speak. Many people say that Sachin has played all this years for money and endorsement. But then I come to the fact that I never saw him endorsing Alcohol or tobacco. Was he never given such opportunity? Till my knowledge he was offered handsome amount of money (Approx. R. 20 crore) but he refused because of his principle, his ethics does not allowed him to do. Think about yourself would you do the same just to ensure you do not go against your “aadarsh”, “Usool”, “Ethics”?

What is another thing which makes me believe that he is the one to idolize is the amount of effort he has put in for his work. (I would not say Cricket because than we take it as a sport and think of it as some extracurricular activity) When I see this man he gives me the way you need to live your life. The man has dedicated his entire life to one thing not cricket but to his dream. People say he is born prodigy, he has been gifted this talent. May be true, but even talent doesn’t shine if it is not controlled and maintained properly.  He has trained himself for hours and months and years. If you are good at something than you become bit lethargic. If we are good at something we believe we don’t need to work on it. That is where I feel Sachin has shown the way. He always knew being best is easy but staying at top is difficult. If after reaching top you believe all is done than there is always someone ready to push you down and take your seat. Hard work, training, dedication, discipline and much more is needed to be successful and Sachin shows it’s not for a year but it almost takes your entire life to reach there. With age of 16 where we start going out with friends, going to pub, clubs and what not but he did not. May be because he didn’t like it, but I feel the reason is because of the will, thirst to reach at the top and to make his dream come true. As he said in his farewell speech, “Dreams do come true, just believe in it”, but understand he said after giving 20 years of life to that dream, constantly and continuously. The problem is not that we don’t dream to be successful, but we lack the patience to reach there. We need it faster and quicker, that is where we lose the hope.

Another thing which inspires me most about him is the failure and difficult time he has gone through. Yes I am saying failure and not his Success. The very first match against Pakistan where he could not perform or the 2007 world cup where we lost to Bangladesh and were knocked out. It can be his performance as a captain or the most difficult phase of his tennis elbow injury. He has gone through a lot but he never gave up. Kept fighting and kept going on. Remember the world cup match against Kenya where he scored century just after few days of his father’s funeral. How did he manage to pull out all this? I am sure he must had a feeling of giving up for few days but than his hunger for success overcome it all the time. I remember when I failed my CA final exams twice and few close people could not believe it, they were disappointed and sad. And it was really a pathetic feeling but then there is these hope that when I will clear these people would jump in joy. Just imagine when he failed billion people were disappointed but with the hope that when he will score those classy runs, when he will smash that straight drive, when he will flick the ball to leg side, when he will raise that bet on getting his century the entire country will be filled with joy and happiness. And he has done that for years.

And to end, a direct message to Sachin (I know he isn’t reading this but still)

“While I know I am not your biggest fan, I don’t have those posters in my room nor have I seen any of your matches in stadium I just want to say you have been the most inspirational, motivational person throughout the life. Many time I have not seen your batting live because I though you get out when I am watching it LIVE. I know foolish superstition but had to do it but ensured watching highlights. You have been the person worth idolize not just because what you managed to achieve but in the manner in which you did. Cricket actually did not remain the same. It was lately I realised that it was not cricket which I loved but it was you being there why I followed it. There may be few greats which will come but the greatest one has retired. Still watching those videos on YouTube excites me but that it also brings out tears that we would not see the magic again. As you said in the farewell speech that chant of “Sachin….Sachin” will always remain with you but I want to tell you each and every cricket fan in India still dream of chanting it one more time. We love you and I know it’s not possible but still somewhere our heart and mind want to see little master on those 22 yards.”

One thought on “Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar – Not Just a Cricketer

Leave a comment