Your choice – Either love it or leave it but just don’t live with it

If you are thinking that this is about Deepika Padukon’s video than answer is “NO”. That video talks about, your choice is what you decide and people need not be judgmental about it, but then there is something more important after that. It is about loving your choice and sticking to it. No I am not even saying that all your choice turned out to be correct. Many may not and actually many won’t. But than what we do when it is wrong? We just cry over it and think as it is our destiny but don’t try to overturn that. That is where you start living your life not as you want but the choices you made.

Bit confusing? May be the first thought after reading above “I am living according to my choice how it is not what I should do”. May be correct but than remember that one colleague around you who would say “Bhai koi job dila de” or “It is not worth to be in this company” I am sure everyone has come across these kind of people. May be you are one of them. I have met lot of Chartered Accountant and engineers to whom if I ask which profession to do than immediate answer comes “Do whatever but don’t do CA or engineer”. What a classic answer but than why they continue to be in such profession or job. I have heard many people giving advice of not joining their company but they continue to work in same company for years. Make no sense to me. On one side you abuse your job and company and then you continue to work in it. In Mumbai’s popular language “Khud ko he chutiya bana raha hai”

It’s not always about the job. I have a friend who always wanted to get into wild life. He made a choice of doing mechanical engineering post his schooling. He successfully completed it and I thought he made a great choice and now he is enjoying his work. But then suddenly one day he comes to me and says I will work for 20years in some company and then give my life to wild life. I don’t know what to call it. Has he done for his family? Or is he doing because he wanted to do it? Yes it might be his decision to help his family but then doesn’t he deserve to choose what he wants? Isn’t he just compromising his life? Well in moralistic way may not be but practically he is!!!!

Yes there are choices sometime you got to do for others but then start loving it and justify your choice, not to others but to yourself. We do choices many time to please people but then you end up hating that choice, to me you are just wasting your valuable time. Recently a friend of mine was asked to go out with some other friends of her. Even though she did not want to go, she ended up saying yes so that they don’t feel bad. Very usual scenario in life isn’t it? Then what she should do? I think either she should get excited about going out and love her choice or she should say straight no and leave it. But unfortunately she is just living with the choice.

There is this one guy I know who wanted to do engineering after 10th but could not do it because got less percentage. He ended up doing commerce. But within one year when I met him, he simply said “dude this is the best thing happened to me, I just love accounts and other subjects” He ended up enrolling for Chartered Accountant. He was not in some very famous college, but when I asked him do you regret not getting in your choice of college, simple answer came “Pagal hai kya, I am happy as there is no attendance problem in my college and I can easily complete my CA and articleship.” I guess this is what I mean with loving your choice. May be you think he just gave up or adjusted but when I see him, I just feel he was enjoying and loving what came in his life, few thing by choice few by force.

I am not saying not to do something what you don’t want to do. But when you do it, try to find out that one reason why you want to carry on with it rather than regretting it. And of you can’t find that reason, you need to leave the choice you made and not just live with it. And to end a quote which I recently came across “Time wasted cannot be recycled” Every time you live with your choice, you are just wasting your time. So don’t waste your time and start loving or leaving the choices.

Leave a comment